Welcome to Western Washington’s Cox Conserves Heroes Program

KIRO 7 is proud to partner with The Trust for Public Land to bring you Western Washington's Cox Conserves Heroes program.

Nominations are currently open for the 2017 awards through May 22nd.

Cox Conserves Heroes is an awards program created by KIRO-TV’s parent company, Cox Enterprises, and The Trust for Public Land (TPL). The program honors Heroes among us who work to create, preserve, improve or enhance the shared outdoor places in our communities.

FAQ Washington

How are the Heroes Chosen?

The Heroes Judging Circle, a panel of civic leaders within Seattle's conservation field, selects three finalists. The finalists are profiled on the Cox Conserves Heroes website and in local media, during which, the public is asked to vote online for their favorite. At the conclusion of the voting period, the finalist with the most votes will be selected as Western Washington’s Cox Conserves Hero.

What does the Hero Receive?

A total of $20,000 will be donated to local environmental nonprofits in the Seattle area. The Cox Conserves Hero will receive $10,000, and each of the two finalists will receive $5,000 to donate to their nonprofits of choice. The organization must be a registered 501(c)(3) and proof of registration status is required.

Where do I send questions not answered in the FAQ?


Who is Eligible?

Individuals of all ages are eligible to become Cox Conserves Heroes. You may nominate yourself or someone else. Cox Enterprises, its affiliated companies, The Trust for Public Land employees and their immediate families are not eligible. Previous Cox Conserves Heroes and finalists are not eligible.

  • Nominee's activity creates, protects and/or beautifies an outdoor community space
  • Nominee's activity is done on a volunteer basis and is not part of his or her paid employment
  • Nominee's activity inspires others to engage in community conservation

Individuals living in the following counties are eligible:

Chelan, Clallam, Douglas, Grays Harbor Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Thurston, Whatcom